Winter storm federal disaster aid

Winter Storm Disaster Aid

Federal Disaster Aid Approved for 77 Texas Counties:

The White House partially approved Texas’ request for a Major Disaster Declaration, Gov. Greg Abbott said Saturday. The federal government will provide individual assistance in 77 counties, including Bexar, Dallas, Harris, Tarrant and Travis — and public assistance, for emergency protective measures only, in all 254 counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster, FEMA said in a news release.

Impacted individuals and business owners in counties included in President Joe Biden’s declaration can apply for assistance by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585.

“I thank President Biden for his assistance as we respond to impacts of winter weather across our state,” Abbott said. “While this partial approval is an important first step, Texas will continue to work with our federal partners to ensure all eligible Texans have access to the relief they need. The funds provided under the Major Disaster Declaration may provide crucial assistance to Texans as they begin to repair their homes and address property damage.”

Through the office of Judge Clay Jenkins, Dallas County has launched a form to help with a statewide effort to assess the scope of damage caused by this week’s storms. The link below is for individuals, businesses, and organizations across Dallas that have experienced damage to their homes/facilities to submit information. The data will be used to assess the amount of federal aid needed to make repairs and enhancements across the state.

Scroll to Top